Creating portable Internet Explorer 6 + Developer Toolbar

Note that what I mean with Developer Toolbar here is not a portable developer toolbar buat a portable IE6 that works with Developer Toolbar. Other types of portable IE 6 I have tried does not work well with Developer Toolbar.

1. Install 7-zip
2. Extract XP SP2 installation package into some directory (open the .exe file with 7-zip)
3. For each one of these files:

browselc.dll dxtmsft.dll mshtml.dll urlmon.dll xpsp2res.dll
browseui.dll dxtrans.dll shdoclc.dll vbscript.dll iexplore.exe
jscript.dll shdocvw.dll wininet.dll mshtml.tlb

Find the corresponding files, i.e., browselc.dll corresponds with browselc.dl_

4. Open the corresponding file (i.e. browselc.dl_ for browselc.dll) with 7-zip
5. Create an empty directory for your portable IE
6. Extract the file in no.4 the the directory in no.5
7. Create an empty file named iexplore.exe.local
8. Copy dispex.dll to the directory in no.5. It’s not in the SP2 package, so you’ll have to copy it from another source. I copy it from C:\WINDOWS\system32. My dispex.dll version is 5.6.0.8825.
8. You can test your portable IE version using
http://www.positioniseverything.net/articles/sidepages/cond_1.html

    • Jason
    • November 18th, 2008

    is it able for Vista ?

  1. Hi!

    I cannot seem to get the developer toolbar part of this working. Can you please let me know if there are any further instructions to get this up and running?

    Many thanks,
    James

    • ezenkiel
    • October 7th, 2009

    It starts under Windows XP and with IE8 installed, but I cannot open any page except those I entered as home page in “Ïnternet Options,” and also can open links from home page.

    Actually, when I type some address in address bar, it shows error message “the requested lookup key was not found in any active activation context.”

    Any ideas hot to avoid this?

  2. Thank you very much for your help, this has been a great abatement from the books,

  3. Adrian

  4. I savor, result in I discovered exactly what I was
    taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

  5. I was recommended this website via my cousin. I’m not certain whether
    this post is written by means of him as no one else
    know such designated about my trouble. You are wonderful!
    Thanks!

  6. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as
    with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

